Electrical Problems after Storms

General chat about life in the Land Of Smiles. Discuss expat life, relationship issues and all things generally Thailand and Asia related.
johnjar
Guru
Guru

Electrical Problems after Storms

Post by johnjar »

Nereus wrote: Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:14 am
Dannie Boy wrote: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:02 am
Big Boy wrote: Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:53 am :banghead: First rain, first power cut :banghead:
Although I worked in the Power Generation business for over 40 years, I don’t understand the technical side of the distribution/domestic supply, but we have a 3 phase supply in our house and have some power and light circuits on and some off - maybe Nereus will provide the reasoning behind it all
Most small consumers are only supplied with single phase. If you have a 3 phase supply consider yourself fortunate.
The distribution system used in the street consists of 2 different types of electrical connections. The high voltage uses 3 wires and is connected in what is called "delta", or "mesh" if you are a Yank, and the triangle shape of the connection means that each of the 3 points of the triangle is 1 phase.

The voltage on each phase will be High Voltage, 6KV, 11KV, or whatever and of no use to a consumer. So a transformer has to be provided to "step down" the voltage to a useful level, in this country around 220 volts. The "primary" side winding of the transformer connects directly to the HV supply, one phase to each winding.

It is the secondary side of the transformer that is used for the consumer supply. Here the connection of the windings are connected in what is called "star", or "wye". This is a "Y" shaped connection with 1 phase available at each end of each leg of the "Y".