Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Visa questions, companies, work permits, employment, insurance, banking and finance, and legal issues.
SPONSORS: Chavalit & Partners : AA Insurance
Post Reply
canthai
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:52 pm
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by canthai » Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:45 am

I am a little confused. Are you able to do a border run without obtaining a visa for Myanmar in Bangkok first? Can you just show up as you would in Ranong

Gérard
Professional
Professional
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:36 pm
Location: Prachuap City

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Gérard » Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:22 am

canthai wrote:I am a little confused. Are you able to do a border run without obtaining a visa for Myanmar in Bangkok first? Can you just show up as you would in Ranong
Yes, you can just show up as you would in Ranong and do it yourself (withouth any agent) if you drive there.
From Huahin, only 250 km, nice countryside.

Elena
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Elena » Sun Jul 12, 2015 3:19 pm

Hi everybody! Here is my story about visa run to Ban Phu Num Ron/Kanchanaburi. I did visa run on June 26, 2015. I took a taxi from HH (3,300 baht two ways) cause I went with a newborn child. But there are buses and minibuses from Kanchanaburi. Minibuses run from 6 am until 2:30 pm. Buses from 6:30am until 9:30 am. Price: buses - 70 Baht, minibuses - 100 Baht. The trip takes 1 hour.

When you arrive at the border as soon as you find yourself in the international zone that is a cafe with white chairs, you will have to pay 910 baht and a girl fills up your immigration cards and a guy takes your passports to go to the Burmese boarder to get stamps. In approximately one hour he comes back with Burmese stamps in your passports (arrival and departure). Then you have to come up to the arrival booth on the opposite side and get a Thai arrival stamp. That's all.

The trip from HH takes 4 hours one way. Better to leave at about 10am as I did to arrive at 2 pm. In my case I was only one stranger on the boarder.

For those who have children born in Thailand no need to have a visa. Even if they overstay in the country they don't have to pay a fine. It is valid until they are 15 y.o. Please bring a copy of their Thai Birh certficates and the originals (just in case). Otherwise you will have to photocopy on the boarder and it will cost you 5 baht/page. Don't forget to bring the departure immigration card with you. But if you lost it, never mind they will write out a new one. Good luck!

Mrock
Member
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:19 am
Location: Black Mountain and Canada

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Mrock » Sat Jul 18, 2015 11:22 am

Is this border still open for visa runs?
I will be driving myself from Hua Hin for a visa run around July 22=24. Anybody want to join me?

Does anyone have good directions to here?

Thanks,
Ed

User avatar
buksida
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15329
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:25 pm
Location: south of sanity
Contact:

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by buksida » Sat Jul 18, 2015 12:04 pm

Directions and maps on first page of this thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=25940
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson
Get out there: On The Road Asia

hhnewbie
Member
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:53 pm

Visa run to Kanchanaburi

Post by hhnewbie » Fri Nov 20, 2015 3:56 pm

Has anyone been there recently? I read in September that the border was closed due to Bangkok bombing is it open for busuness now? Thanks

User avatar
usual suspect
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1663
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Huahin

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by usual suspect » Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:02 am

I asked this very same Q. on here about a month ago..I'm assuming that no news on this front = nothing's changed, at least nothing favourable for us.
(I do get the feeling that not to many forum members actually do visa-runs..be it 1 for 15/30days or a 60/90 day-stamp)
I have 2 more months till I'm due a 'stamp'..so maybe (just maybe) the issues over at Phu Nam Rong may have been resolved, & back to business as usual there..? :cheers:

User avatar
dtaai-maai
Addict
Addict
Posts: 9211
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by dtaai-maai » Sun Nov 29, 2015 11:22 am

Can I ask again if this crossing is open?
Cry ‘God for Harry, England, and St George!’

pmsbkk
Novice
Novice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by pmsbkk » Mon Nov 30, 2015 1:57 pm

UPDATE 29/11: Went there to stamp my Tourist visa Second entry. Nice immigration officer explained me that as long as you have a valid Thai visa you can cross the border no problem! prepare 910 Baht. If no valid visa, they will not let you leave the country at this border.

User avatar
dtaai-maai
Addict
Addict
Posts: 9211
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:00 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by dtaai-maai » Mon Nov 30, 2015 3:09 pm

Thanks for the info, but I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'valid Thai visa'. Do you mean they won't let an overstayer leave? Or do you mean that they won't do 30-day visa exempt stamps there?
Cry ‘God for Harry, England, and St George!’

Mrock
Member
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:19 am
Location: Black Mountain and Canada

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Mrock » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:34 am

I've been there 2 times on the last and second last day of my 30 day visas. Paid the 910baht jumped in the van went to Burma and back.
Walked up to the Thai border and got a 30 day stamp.

This was August and September 2015.

User avatar
Ginjaninja
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1078
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:51 am
Location: Never lovin land

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Ginjaninja » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:43 am

Mrock wrote:I've been there 2 times on the last and second last day of my 30 day visas. Paid the 910baht jumped in the van went to Burma and back.
Walked up to the Thai border and got a 30 day stamp.

This was August and September 2015.
Why are you not getting the 30-day extension at immigration before making a visa-run?
GN.

User avatar
usual suspect
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1663
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:10 pm
Location: Huahin

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by usual suspect » Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:33 pm

pmsbkk...thanks for your snippet of info..I myself & a few mates all have Thai visas in our passports..when we drive to PNR it's 3/half hrs from H.H. compared to 6hrs to go to Ranong for our 'stamp'..Thanks to your info I'll be heading to PNR in January... :cheers: :cheers:

Mrock
Member
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:19 am
Location: Black Mountain and Canada

Re: Kanchanaburi border (Phu Nam Ron) for visa runs

Post by Mrock » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:09 am

Ginjaninja wrote:
Mrock wrote:I've been there 2 times on the last and second last day of my 30 day visas. Paid the 910baht jumped in the van went to Burma and back.
Walked up to the Thai border and got a 30 day stamp.

This was August and September 2015.
Why are you not getting the 30-day extension at immigration before making a visa-run?
GN.

I had the 60day extend 30 for a total 90. It expired.
so I did 30 day visa runs to the border?
I can't extend in HH for 30 more days. Can I?

father
Amateur
Amateur
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 8:29 am

Kanchanaburi Border - Visa Run with own Vehicle

Post by father » Fri Dec 11, 2015 10:36 am

Just looking for any updated information. I have a Double Entry Visa and want to use the second entry. Any issues or are things back to normal?
Also, I have my own vehicle so any issues using it to drive over into the Burmese side to do what ever I need to do?

I read some of the other threads and it appears they'd shut it down for awhile. Do I need anything special to get into Burma that I can't get at the border crossing?

All help appreciated. Would hate to drive all the way up there and find out I need another piece of paper.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests