50 years on (except Hua Hin)

Discussion on science, nature and technology across the globe.
J.J.B.
Guru
Guru

50 years on (except Hua Hin)

Post by J.J.B. »

I’m surprised. I was born a few years after Armstrong and Aldrin set foot on the moon, 50 years ago today, and would have thought some forum members would be reminiscing about this historic event. But no, it’s the plight if the pound, bars closing in Soi 80 and some nonsense about football or some such other sporting event of little importance.

Perhaps I didn’t miss much after all then.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-48991051
"A man who does not think for himself, does not think at all."
Wilde
oakdale160
Rock Star
Rock Star

Re: 50 years on (except Hua Hin)

Post by oakdale160 »

Since you ask--- I was a post-grad student at McGill University in Montreal. As i did sme teaching I was a member of the Faculty Club and I went there to watch, early evening I think. All day there had been tension and when it happened it felt almost anti-climatic. We had a competition to forecast the first words and one guy got it almost exactly righI also remember Sputnik, when I was an undergrad--no videos but some B & W photos (TV was all B&W).
Then there was Stephensons first steam engine train------
Dannie Boy
Hero
Hero

Post by Dannie Boy »

I was just starting out at work - the 20th July must have been a Sunday because I started work on what was Monday 21st July 1969. In those days it was all about newspaper reporting and/or watching it on your 20 inch B&W TV set. Whilst it was obviously a major moment in world history, I don’t think it was dramatised anything like it would be in today’s high tech environment where even minor events are scrutinised to the Nth degree!!
joelle
Legend
Legend

Post by joelle »