Songkran 2020

So what is going on around here and where does it happen? This section is for discussion on local events, festivals, and holidays as well as activities and things to do.
Lost
Addict
Addict

Songkran 2020

Post by Lost »

Well, this year is going to be interesting!

We're a month or so away and, all things considered, were there to be big water fights in Thailand (in the current climate) it would shed a very bad light on Thailand. It would look very bad indeed.

I've not known of a cancelled Songkran in my 30 years enjoying the tradition. And I can't see the country holding back on the day...

But, given the restrictive measures put in place all over by World governments, I would say that Songkran is cancelled this year. And that's a shame as its a real treat for locals and tourists alike.

(as a long term resident I also understand there'll be some folks thanking the gods if it was cancelled :laugh:)

:cheers:
I don't trust children. They're here to replace us.
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Re: Songkran 2020

Post by HHTel »

It has already been cancelled nationwide a few days ago:
Thailand has cancelled all public Songkran celebrations in a move driven by local authorities throughout the country and designed to prevent the kingdom from the threat of the Convid 19 coronavirus infection. Local chiefs throughout the country including Pattaya and Phuket in the last 24 hours have confirmed the news. It follows the cancellation of the Full Moon Party yesterday and new quarantine orders applicable to passengers from 6 high-risk countries.
https://www.thaiexaminer.com/thai-news- ... -clean-up/

There are other links. This was the first I came across.
Lost
Addict
Addict

Post by Lost »

^

I'm gonna go out on a limb here but I bet Pattaya, along with all its sex tourists and prozzies, will be in full swing on the day. And the day after.
I don't trust children. They're here to replace us.
HHTel
Hero
Hero

Post by HHTel »