Schools: Hua Hin or nearby..are there any schools?

Questions for the residents, services, suppliers, shops and businesses, get quick answers from the people that live here.
suzannejames
Amateur
Amateur

Schools: Hua Hin or nearby..are there any schools?

Post by suzannejames »

Moving to "somewhere" in Thailand, leaving the states July 18. Want to find a nice place for me (mom) and my two boys, 13 and 16 to live, and for them to go to school. Not a pricey, fancy school ~ but somewhere they'll have the opportunity for a reasonably good education. I can supplant most of what may not be taught as well as it ought to be.

We really do want to be on or near to the water.

I am a teacher (K-12, Special Ed., Psychology, ESL - English as Second Language, etc.
If I do teach, I want only to private tutor. Cash basis is key factor.

I guess we'll be having to look at other areas, maybe Chonburi. But any other suggestions...... well, any help would be great!

My oldest son, 25, primarily lives in BKK. He's just not available to help us just now, as he's studying in Beijing until mid-July.

As I understand it, most Thai schools start right around August 9th.

Input, guidance, any help would be appreciated. :)
Bamboo Grove

Post by Bamboo Grove »

There's an international section at Somtawin school but I don't know about the quality of the teaching there. A school year costs about 50.000-70.000 baht.
The Thai school year starts in May (depending on school mid-May to Early June) and the second semester starts usually in early November. Schools following international curriculas usually start in August but are by far more expensive than the one mentioned above.

Looking where you come from I can understand you'd like to be near the sea although I reckon the scenery in your area is pretty impressive as well.
mil_dos

Post by mil_dos »