Short words in English vs Sentences in Thai

Thai language section, ask your language questions here.
Spitfire
Addict
Addict

Short words in English vs Sentences in Thai

Post by Spitfire »

I'm not really an expert here on this, but I've often come across the problem of saying something in English only to find out that the Thai translation is a description or sentence of what I've said.

For Example - If you say towel, the Thai equivelant translation is literally 'cloth wipe body'. Seen some very long translations for simple ideas.

But when I bump into the wife's grandfather, he comes out with 'Hello', 'Twilight' etc. Bit confusing sometimes.

Anyone in the know to set this one straight? My Thai is average at best but there must be some out there that can 'lay it down' on this.

:cheers:
Resolve dissolves in alcohol
BaaBaa.
Addict
Addict

Post by BaaBaa. »

I understand what your saying about the translation "cloth wipe body" but
I dont understand what your asking people to contribute to the thread.
Wanderlust
Legend
Legend

Post by Wanderlust »

spitfire,
Not quite sure where you are coming from on this, but English and Thai are so different that this happens in both directions, so often the Thais will have just one word for something which in English requires several, or possibly cannot even be translated. And vice versa, as well as both languages employing words from other languages because they do not already have a word to fit - in English we use words from French (e.g. cafe, restaurant), Latin (e.g. vice versa, e.g), Greek (e.g. alphabet, encyclopedia), and a whole host of others, and Thai does the same, particularly with English and French (e.g. farang derives from Francais apparently).
I'm no expert either but equally I'm not sure what the question is! :mrgreen:
BaaBaa.
Addict
Addict

Post by BaaBaa. »

Wanderlust wrote:(e.g. farang derives from Francais apparently).