Trip to Phuket/Krabi/Phi Phi

Bangkok and beyond, travel talk on all other places in Thailand and Southeast Asia.
SPONSORS: Bang Saphan Guide
Big Boy

Trip to Phuket/Krabi/Phi Phi

Post by Big Boy »

Mrs BB said the words last night that I've been hoping to hear for 2 years now. She would like to do a whistle stop tour of Phuket/Krabi/Phi Phi (probably a couple of nights in each). Apart from landing and taking off again at Phuket, these 3 places are totally alien to both of us - never having been South of Bang Saphan.

I don't want to let the grass grow under my feet because normally getting Mrs BB out of our front gate is a major challenge.

I'm not one for going somewhere, and just lazing on a beach. I can do that here. My preference is to get somewhere, do the MAIN touristy bits and move on. Mrs BB will be content going from place to place in the car because she will be able to sleep.

Neither of us drink alcohol, so a wander through any seedy areas will be enough for both of us. We're happy to retire early, and sit in our hotel rooms with a cup of cocoa :wink: . After an evening meal of course.

I need advice on each of the areas (yes, I could look it up on the Internet, but I believe word of mouth more reliable, and you guys have never let us down before). Is 2 nights in each area enough to do what we need to do? Is it too long, or do we need longer? If we need longer, what will we be doing on each of the days?

So, what is there that is a must do in each place (please bear in mind my wife is Thai and can't walk far). Seriously, my wife has a medical condition, which negates prolonged walking.

At Krabi, I believe the thing to do is a boat trip around the islands. How do I book this? My wife is nervous on the water - how can I be sure of booking something safe? Anybody done it, and willing to share the details?