The Digital Surgery

Technology, computers, internet, websites, mobiles, cameras, audio and video.
SPONSORS: Hua Hin Web Design
Post Reply
Davy B
Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 9:05 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Davy B » Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:47 am

Thanks, buksida!!! The issue of the dead repos or streams is not my main concern. The problem is that I have a list a mile long or errors that have been logged as to why they have not installed properly and some of them are barely a week old. I see all these people shouting out how brilliant a channel or a repo is and the bloody thing will not install or if it does I then get various messages saying things like ''Failed to install dependancies'', yet when I have watched the Youtube fixes they show everything being loaded including the dependencies?? I thought uninstalling it and starting again from fresh would sort it but when I checked the ''new log'' all the stuff was still in there. I just can't get rid of it and if I even attempt to clear them one -by-one it would take me months if not years to fix??

User avatar
buksida
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16778
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 12:25 pm
Location: south of sanity
Contact:

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by buksida » Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:20 am

Have you tried disabling the AV? This worked for me - Avast was blocking the repo download.

I also find deleting the Kodi folders works on occasion and gives it a complete refresh/factory start.
Who is the happier man, he who has braved the storm of life and lived or he who has stayed securely on shore and merely existed? - Hunter S Thompson

User avatar
Big Boy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 32646
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: Bon Kai

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Big Boy » Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:55 pm

uTorrent has stopped downloading anything for me - any ideas please?
League 1 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 3; Position 24

User avatar
404cameljockey
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by 404cameljockey » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:54 am

Big Boy wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:55 pm
uTorrent has stopped downloading anything for me - any ideas please?
Working fine this morning, even tested without a VPN. Did you check again this morning? Facebook was glitching last night, maybe there was some internet trouble.

User avatar
Big Boy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 32646
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: Bon Kai

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Big Boy » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:35 pm

After trying just about everything I could think of, I gave in. So, it was off to Mr Don to see if he could think of anything. I showed him the problem, and in the blink of an eye, downloading started, and in a couple of minutes, everything was down :oops:

I felt so stupid - the one thing I hadn't checked was my Internet connection (why would I, everything else was fine). All resolved now.
League 1 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 3; Position 24

PET
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: The Digital Surgery New Firefox home page favourites

Post by PET » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:11 pm

About 3 weeks ago I downloaded a new Firefox and on their home page it was blank for just the Search. But it eventually after a day or so came up with highlighting those sites I used more often with a small picture of the sight. In all about 16 sites. yesterday I saw that this included Teatime TV which I have cancelled. I went to the box clicked the RH corner to remove and all the other sites were also removed. How can I get them back as I really liked this page ?
Vincit Omnia Veritas - What matters in life is not where you are from but where you are going.

PET
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:24 pm
Location: Hua Hin

Re: The Digital Surgery New Firefox home page favourites

Post by PET » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:51 am

PET wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:11 pm
About 3 weeks ago I downloaded a new Firefox and on their home page it was blank for just the Search. But it eventually after a day or so came up with highlighting those sites I used more often with a small picture of the sight. In all about 16 sites. yesterday I saw that this included Teatime TV which I have cancelled. I went to the box clicked the RH corner to remove and all the other sites were also removed. How can I get them back as I really liked this page ?
It is OK now I have been able to bring back the 16 most visited !!
Vincit Omnia Veritas - What matters in life is not where you are from but where you are going.

Homer
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Homer » Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:01 am

Chrome browser on Windows automatically updates itself. On the 12th Google turned on Site Isolation. Protects against Spectra and Meltdown exploits. You're now free to move about the web. Downside is Chrome, known as a memory hog, now uses more.

https://www.computerworld.com/article/3 ... ology.html

User avatar
404cameljockey
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:14 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by 404cameljockey » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:40 pm

Homer wrote:
Sat Jul 14, 2018 11:01 am
Chrome browser on Windows automatically updates itself. On the 12th Google turned on Site Isolation. Protects against Spectra and Meltdown exploits. You're now free to move about the web. Downside is Chrome, known as a memory hog, now uses more.

https://www.computerworld.com/article/3 ... ology.html
Good info, thanks. Just shabby that Micro$hit didn't manage to protect their OS yet.

handdrummer
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:58 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by handdrummer » Sun Jul 15, 2018 1:51 pm

Can someone please tell me where I can find the latest map, on this site, to Mr. Don's computer repair.

Thank you.

User avatar
Big Boy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 32646
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: Bon Kai

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Big Boy » Sun Jul 15, 2018 4:27 pm

Don_the_computer.jpg
League 1 Charlton Athletic 2 - 1 Plymouth Argyle :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Points 3; Position 24

handdrummer
Ace
Ace
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:58 am

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by handdrummer » Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:53 am

Thanks BB.

Homer
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Homer » Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:31 am

FYI, but maybe it's limited to Win7

Windows won't boot to a CD/DVD after interrupting startup? You pressed the proper key to display the boot menu, clicked on the optical drive (cd/dvd/blueray), then windows ignored the CD and booted from the hard disk. You tried a different bootable disk. Same result. Tried the bootable system image rescue disk - which contains windows PE, the presinstalation environment. Win PE is the boot of last resort. The one that lets you restore you system. Same result.

You're now ready to pull out your hair, but thankful that it's too thin to grasp. Then you try the same sequence above, pressing Enter instead of clicking. It boots from the optical drive. Arrgh. Windows sucks.

Reminded me of a program I released to the users in '93. I took pride in having few or no bugs while my co-workers let the users find the their bugs. Received a bug report the first day. Couldn't reproduce it. Went to the users cubicle. Couldn't reproduce it. She could reproduce it every time. She was using the mouse exclusively, me the keyboard. Windows sucks.

User avatar
laser
Member
Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: HH/EU/Oz

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by laser » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:14 pm

Homer wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:31 am
FYI, but maybe it's limited to Win7
...
You pressed the proper key to display the boot menu
It's vague, what proper key and menu? Anyway, under Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (no updates installed) F8/advanced startup options only gives me keyboard control. There's no mouse cursor, so any clicking should be futile.

I don't regard this a problem or annoyance. But if you do, try a PS2 mouse (treated differently as a hardware device vs USB mice), or investigate if the mouse driver is a loaded already. It may be possible to change the driver loading sequence and/or mouse driver handling through a modified .inf file.

Homer
Legend
Legend
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:11 pm

Re: The Digital Surgery

Post by Homer » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:21 pm

laser wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:14 pm
Homer wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:31 am
FYI, but maybe it's limited to Win7
...
You pressed the proper key to display the boot menu
It's vague, what proper key and menu?
Intentionally vague because one size does not fit all.

In simple terms Windoze talks with the [ something ] that talks to the Firmware that talks to the Hardware. From the first PC to mid 2000s, the something was the BIOS. At start up, most would show a brief message like 'Press F2 to enter BIOS Setup. There you'd choose which drive to boot from. UEFI replaced BIOS. My 2 UEFI machines displayed 4 messages, including the one to display the boot menu.
laser wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:14 pm
Anyway, under Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (no updates installed) F8/advanced startup options only gives me keyboard control. There's no mouse cursor, so any clicking should be futile.

I don't regard this a problem or annoyance. But if you do, try a PS2 mouse (treated differently as a hardware device vs USB mice), or investigate if the mouse driver is a loaded already. It may be possible to change the driver loading sequence and/or mouse driver handling through a modified .inf file.
Thanks for the tip. I've always found that going into the BIOS/UEFI Setup, then navigate to the Exit menu selection using the left or right arrows, then exit without saving gives me both mouse and keyboard at the windows logon screen.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 4 guests