Foreigner Population Expolsion

General chat about life in the Land Of Smiles. Discuss expat life, relationship issues and all things generally Thailand and Asia related.
Spitfire
Addict
Addict

Foreigner Population Expolsion

Post by Spitfire »

To all, I have thought about this subject many times over the last few years and never really found a definitive answer, so will share with all and see what people think.

I have been coming Thailand on and off for many years but decided to come and live here permanently about 6-7 years ago.

In the tourist hotspots there has always been a lot of foreigners around of course, suppose my point is that, now, almost wherever you go the are many, many around everywhere. Not a good or bad thing, just an observation.

For example, when I first came here I was living in Korat and there were a few foreigners around, mainly Vietnam Vets and the over 45 retired guys, I was pretty much the youngest guy there at 32. Then lived in the middle of nowhere for a few years and met lot of guys living there, some under 25, which surprised me.
Now if you go to Korat you will find that there are loads of people living there, and what is noticable is the age of many now living, work etc. Many are in their early twenties and are staying.

This is the case in almost all of the cities, even the small ones like Roi Et, Loei, Lopburi etc.

This is not just restricted to the cities, if you go to any small village almost anywhere and there foreigners living in the countryside, some pretty young, anywhere you go.

Even in Hua Hin, those that live there have probably noticed this too.

Suppose it's inevitable that this will happen but the speed at which it has happened over the last few years is breath-taking.

-Those that have been here a while will have noticed this surely. Give your thoughts.
-Those that have recently moved, are thinking or planning of moving may well be able to contribute as to 'Why'.